The Islands of the South Seas


The Islands of the South Seas

  1. Introduction
  2. The Islands
  3. Independence
  4. Economy
  5. Conflicts
The Islands of the South Seas
The islands of the South Seas, the territory of Polynesia, Micronesia and Melanesia - about two dozen states and territories, is very small in size. The smallest of the independent states - Nauru, with a population of 10 thousand. People and an area of ​​21 square meters. km, the largest - Solomon Islands (446 thousand. people) and Fiji (810 thousand.). In most cases, these countries have a population of as a pair of Russian regions, but it has all the attributes of sovereignty laid, including the presence of MFA (Ministry of Foreign Affairs) Kiribati with four employees, probably the smallest in the world.

In the XIX century. the islands were occupied by European powers, especially Britain and France. However, many of the British territories were governed not by London, and the British dominions - Australia and New Zealand. Somewhat later appeared in the region, and US possessions. Not without competition, but rather moderate, as the super-profits from the ownership of the islands was not expected and took them mainly because of strategic considerations and prestigious. The colonial economy was based on the cultivation of the coconut palm, sugar cane and fishing. At the same time, foreign businessmen quickly found that local workers not very good work on the plantations, preferring regular work healthy sleep and cheerful village festivals. Therefore, the islands were imported from Asia contractors - Indians, Chinese and Vietnamese.
Страница 2 из 5«12345»
Метки: Polynesia

В этом разделе

  • Hula24 Декабря, 2018

Добавить комментарий


Естественный спутник земли?